Just turn off of Potomac Street onto Springfield Lane to see why George Washington frequented Williamsport. Visit the museum located in the barn and operated by the History and Museum Board to observe first-hand the rich heritage and history of Williamsport.
The Springfield Barn, which overlooks Williamsport’s Byron Memorial Park, was built circa 1755 by Otho Holland Williams, the founder of Williamsport. The Town of Williamsport purchased this barn in 1987. The Springfield Barn is one of the largest barns in the state of Maryland. This eight bay frame barn is 56 feet wide and nearly 168 feet long with a raised-seam roof. The first section, built over 200 years ago and set on stone foundations, is a four-bay bank barn with two open brick granaries. One of these has simple open brickwork ventilation holes. The other four bays were built somewhat later and in the 1880’s, Victorian trim and nine ventilators were added along the ridge of the roof. Within the barn, the original cedar shakes are still visible.
Williamsport is working to preserve the barn’s historic past and make it a part of our present community life.
Along the Civil War Fence row surrounding the Springfield Barn, 180 trees were recently planted and dedicated to fallen soldiers from the Civil War era. The Town of Williamsport partnered with The Journey Through Hallowed Ground and the Maryland Forestry Service to plant these trees and have them dedicated as part of The Journey Through Hallowed Ground’s Living Legacy Tree Planting Project. The Living Legacy project is a bold initiative that commemorates the 150th Anniversary of the American Civil War. Through this program, one tree will be planted for each of the 620,000 soldiers who died during one of the most defining moments in American history. The trees planted will be geo-tagged for an interactive learning experience.
This majestic barn is the unique setting, no matter what the occasion:
- Graduation Ceremonies
- Wine/Beer Festivals
- Community Events
- Corporate Picnics
The Barn’s interior consists of original beams and ceiling masts with solid wood flooring throughout. The rentable space is approx. 5,000 sq. ft., capable of accommodating up to 460 guests. (200 with tables/chairs)
There is an elevated stage-like area that can be used for additional seating, musical & theatrical performances, as well as ceremonies & presentations.
A private barn yard in the rear of the building is accessible from the inside of the barn and offers an intimate outdoor setting.
- Bridal Suite
- Ample parking
- Large bathroom facilities
- Outdoor picnic tables
- 5′ Round Tables and Chairs (for 200 guests)
- Access to Byron Memorial Park
Weekday Rentals: Mon. – Thurs.
Weekend Rentals: Fri.- Sun. (9am-12am)
For Details and Reservations:
email: email@example.com or call 301-573-0459.
The barn is located at 12 Springfield Lane, Williamsport, MD 21795.
Events at Springfield Farm Williamsport, MD on Facebook
Visit the museum located in the barn and operated by the History and Museum Board and observe firsthand the rich heritage and history of Williamsport. Open Sundays 1PM ~ 4PM
The Town Museum is located in old milk parlor on the back side of the Springfield Barn. The Museum features local memorabilia, Williamsport High School Alumni Board and School Room and is open Sundays from 1:00-4:00 p.m. March through October.
Tree planted by the Potomac Garden Club in memory of two local Sailors, Seaman Craig B. Wibberley from Williamsport and Fireman Patrick H. Roy from Keedysville, they lost their lives by terrorists bombing, while serving on the U.S.S. Cole (left).
Red Horse from the Red Horse Steak House that was started by Leo “Red” Riffle, local resident. The horse was donated to the Museum by Jeff Crampton (right).
While the owners of Springfield Farm lived in the mansion house, it was the tenant farmers that lived in the Springfield Farm tenant house and worked and farmed the large fields of Springfield Farm. They helped supply much of the needed food and supplies for Williamsport and Washington County. The farm land stretched from Potomac River and Conococheague Creek banks to the Hagerstown City Park. Williamsport is currently restoring the Springfield tenant house to the period during the late 1880-1920’s – one family that lived in the tenant house was the Isaac Hoffman family. They farmed the land, growing wheat, corn, other crops, milking cows, hogs, chickens, eggs, goats and horses. Butchering was always a great day on the farm starting early in the morning. Mrs. Clara Hoffman planted a kitchen garden with herbs and vegetables. The kitchen was always a busy place – canning produce and meat for the hard winters, baking bread, pies and cakes, making quilts to warm her family on cold winter nights and once saved her children from a fire at the tenant house started by a faulty lantern.
Historic fruit trees, George IV 1820 Peach, Bavay’s Green Gage Plum 1700, Newton Pippin 1759 Apple, Bartlett Pear 1700, Baldwin 1784 Apple, Gravenstein 1790 Apple, were planted by the Potomac Garden Club in honor of Williamsport Town Founder, Revolutionary War Hero, Brigadier General Otho Holland Williams.
Patriot Tree in Memory of two local Navy Service Members, Seaman Craig B. Wibberley and Fireman Patrick H. Roy, who lost their lives by terrorists bombing, while serving on the U.S.S. Cole, October 12, 2000 and the Remembrance Garden (right).
Eagle Scout project of Colton Shirley 2013. Bricks are placed in memory and in honor of loved ones, for information on purchasing a brick for the Remembrance Garden, Contact Town Hall (301) 223-7711 (below). The Springfield Farm is located at 12 Springfield Lane, Williamsport, MD 21795.